Tropical Fish Keeping banner

What cleaners should I get for my tank?

3K views 14 replies 5 participants last post by  novicedave 
#1 ·
I have a 46 gallon tank. I have 6 small blue legged hermit crabs. I just recently changed my metal halide bulb and since then algae has went crazy. What other cleaners should I get for my tank?

#4 ·
Congrats on the copperband how long have you had it?

For clean up some more little hermits (stay away from starry hermits) and some of the smaller snails (ex. nassarius snail) It seems like you already have a good size fish load so id stay away from cleaner type fish.

#6 ·
Hey Gump,

I have a large (2.5-3 inch) red hermit crab in my tank now and was wondering...would this big red, polka-dotted, hairy legged crab attack a snail smaller than himself? I, thought their main purpose for attacking snails was for their shell, but his shell would be sooo much bigger than the typical small snails.

What do you think?

#7 ·
algae bloom

im not an aqaurium pro...but...when i upgraded my lighting from 40 watt flourescent to 260 watts i experienced a bloom as well. fortunatelly i realized it right away and added about 15 small blue legs and 8 more snails.. although i think lessening my photo period was the key factor. mind you i do not have any corals yet so i could do that . depending on what type of corals you have and knowing their requirements you could lessen your photo period as well or at least untill your new tank mates get a hold of the bloom...logically more light more algae less light less algae...its finding the right combination of lighting time required and inhabitants to control the algae

#8 ·