Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Cichlids (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/)
-   -   75 gal stocking (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/75-gal-stocking-68680/)

29Kilo29 04-22-2011 11:13 PM

75 gal stocking

Hi,
I got a new 75 gallon tank a week and a half ago, currently cycling. I am planning on making it some sort of cichlid tank, but I have little experience with Cichlids.It basically comes down to African Cichlids or South American Cichlids for me. I know the South American's are bigger and more aggressive, or at least the ones at my closest fish store are.

Now if I were to get South American Cichlids... I would definitely want an Oscar, but can I keep more than 1 in a 75gal, and if so what other fish can I put with it?

African Cichlids I'm not really sure about....

Any suggestions/ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

artes 04-24-2011 08:29 AM

If you really want an oscar, I would just do 1, and you could give him a smaller companion if you wanted. My oscar was best buddies with a blood parrot. Oscars do fine by themselves though.

29Kilo29 04-24-2011 10:16 AM

Do you know what other fish can go with Oscar's?

artes 04-24-2011 10:52 AM

Just about any semi-aggressive cichlid. Firemouths, for example. A blue acara would be a pretty companion as well.

29Kilo29 04-24-2011 11:27 AM

I think I might go with the African Cichlids... because they are a little smaller and more variety with them.
Just wondering though... can they be kept with any non-cichlids?

artes 04-24-2011 11:46 AM