Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Please tell me if my theory on pH is correct? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/please-tell-me-if-my-theory-68163/)

whitecloud34 04-16-2011 07:57 PM

Please tell me if my theory on pH is correct?

-So acidic water automatically converts ammonia into ammonium;
-and 6.0 pH is too acidic for the nitrogen cycle to happen (right?)

^Given that, is it essentially true, then, that as long as you keep your pH at a stable 6.0 then you don't even need the tank to cycle? And then you don't even need plants to do the naturally planted aquarium because the ammonium is harmless anyway? I'm still learning and trying to work this out in my head...