Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   I need fish suggestions (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/i-need-fish-suggestions-6754/)

coley 06-28-2007 08:06 AM

I need fish suggestions

Hello all,

After searching through a bunch of posts, I'm more confused now.

My tank is cycled and I'm ready to add a couple more fish. Right now I have 5 platys in my 20 gallon with a single filter, pH is high (around 8 ) and the water is hard. I keep it at 78* with plastic plants.

I'd like to add 3 to 5 fish on Saturday and I'm not sure which ones. I was thinking 3 or 4 White Clouds and a Cory cat. How do Cory's do alone?

BTW: I'm very new at this, so I'm looking for hearty fish, but also colorful ones.

Thanks,

leifthebunny 06-28-2007 08:29 AM

Cories really do better in schools. 2 is ok, but the more the better.

Falina 06-28-2007 03:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by leifthebunny
Cories really do better in schools. 2 is ok, but the more the better.

I definitely agree! I kept 3 cories together, and sure, they seemed happy enough, now I keep 12 together and they're much happier. They're also more entertaining in groups.

A high Ph like that is good for livebearers and they come in many colours, if you take all the livebearers into account you have almost every colour in fact and they tend to be quite hardy. The only problem is that you will end up with a very overstacked tank if you have a mix of sexes and no fry control.

coley 06-28-2007 03:41 PM

Thanks for the info. I want to get a bottom feeder or two. Is there any that would be happy being alone or paired that wouldn't get too big?

I thought 20 gallons would be plenty big enough.....I think I see another tank in my future. I really have to choose my fish carefully.