Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   confused on tank cycling (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/confused-tank-cycling-67186/)

Boredomb 04-05-2011 03:48 PM

confused on tank cycling
 
Can someone Please example to me how tank cycle works I am kinda confused I know alittle about it but I am just confusing myself. My water parameters are ph=7.8 ammonia=.25 nitrite=0 nitrate= about 5. This is after a water change I think I am going about this wrong and I need some help please. This is in my 55 planted tank that is well planted and has 5 colmbian tetra in it thanks

Pufffreely 04-05-2011 07:13 PM

how long has your tank been cycling? Since it is a fish-in cycle how often and what% are you preforming water changes. Fish produce ammonia which is converted to nitrite then it is to nitrate which is removed via water changes. After a tank is cycled ammonia should stay zero, nitrite should stay zero, nitrate should stay as low as you can get it.
Posted via Mobile Device

Boredomb 04-05-2011 07:46 PM

Its been cycling since last Thursday (I know it is still really earlier in process) done two water changes already and about 25% when I do them and everytime I check the lvl they never changes Soo I am just wondering if I am doing something wrong?
Posted via Mobile Device

Boredomb 04-05-2011 07:50 PM

Am just really confused and think I have stepped in over my head and am afraid I am going to kill everything in my tank :/
Posted via Mobile Device

Pufffreely 04-05-2011 08:08 PM

To me it sounds like your doing alot right. Just keep doing those water changes. Test frequently. One note, try to resist the urge to add new fish for awhile. The fish you have are doing their job producing ammonia and adding more can spike ammonia levels, overload the bacteria( (biofilter) causing the cycle to take longer. Just do what your doing and stock slow and you will be fine.
Posted via Mobile Device

SomeDudeAtHome 04-05-2011 08:08 PM

I don't think you've done anything wrong really. 55g is a big tank and can take a while to fully cycle. I'd say you have two options really. 1, keep doing frequent water changes to help reduce the stress on your fish or 2, return the fish and allow your tank to fully cycle. Also I'm not sure if you have real or fake plants but lots of real plants could help quite a bit.

*edit* Pufffreely just beat me haha and said pretty much the same thing.

Boredomb 04-05-2011 08:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SomeDudeAtHome (Post 640237)
I don't think you've done anything wrong really. 55g is a big tank and can take a while to fully cycle. I'd say you have two options really. 1, keep doing frequent water changes to help reduce the stress on your fish or 2, return the fish and allow your tank to fully cycle. Also I'm not sure if you have real or fake plants but lots of real plants could help quite a bit.

*edit* Pufffreely just beat me haha and said pretty much the same thing.

They are real plants 40+ in there.

SomeDudeAtHome 04-05-2011 08:22 PM

Oh ya, just reread your first post and missed the live plant part. That's good though that will definitely help your situation.

Boredomb 04-05-2011 08:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pufffreely (Post 640235)
To me it sounds like your doing alot right. Just keep doing those water changes. Test frequently. One note, try to resist the urge to add new fish for awhile. The fish you have are doing their job producing ammonia and adding more can spike ammonia levels, overload the bacteria( (biofilter) causing the cycle to take longer. Just do what your doing and stock slow and you will be fine.
Posted via Mobile Device

Wasn't planning on putting anything else in the tank untill it was cycled

Mikaila31 04-05-2011 09:41 PM

What water treatments are you using?

I really can't see how 5 tetras are producing 0.25 ammonia in a 55 gallon planted tank... IMO there is either an error in the readings or you have additional ammonia source in the tank. How long was it planted before the fish were added? Also what substrate?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2