Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Soil instead of Rock (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/soil-instead-rock-6715/)

dhritiman 06-26-2007 08:53 AM

Soil instead of Rock
 
I was thinking if instead of Rocks can chunks of soil be used for the layout in a planted tank.Because the only rocks I find in our garden is sandstone.And decorating with them :? ?? I think I wont look good...
Thanks for replying.......

jones57742 06-26-2007 11:55 AM

dh:

I must "really be missing something here"
as
would not the soil "chunks" "dissolve" in the tank water
and
create a mess in the tank, in the mechanical filtration process and in the biological filtration process?

Also
are you "really sure" you want to use the sandstone you quoted as the soluble impurities in the sandstone might be detrimental or lethal to your fish.

TR

dhritiman 06-26-2007 10:47 PM

I am not concerned about the filtaration because,I have mixed pumice with the substrate.That will give space for the bacterial colonies to grow.(I read this in TFH).

jones57742 06-27-2007 05:35 PM

I must be missing something here.

Why will not the "soil chunks" disolve in your tank water.

TR

dhritiman 06-27-2007 11:08 PM

I do not know why but the soil is not dissolving.I have kept in a bucket of water for 1 week and tested.

leifthebunny 06-28-2007 08:45 AM

Is your soil a heavy clay?

jones57742 06-28-2007 11:39 AM

Folks:

This is "just not a good idea".

Even as you put it LTB if it is a "heavy clay" by definition is composed of very, very fine minerals.

The clay will swell and the surficial minerals will dissolve.

Also, as stated earlier, the material may have impurities which are detrimental or lethal to fish.

TR

leifthebunny 06-28-2007 03:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jones57742
Folks:

This is "just not a good idea".

Even as you put it LTB if it is a "heavy clay" by definition is composed of very, very fine minerals.

The clay will swell and the surficial minerals will dissolve.

Also, as stated earlier, the material may have impurities which are detrimental or lethal to fish.

TR

I agree. Specially if it is a heavy clay. Where I live, we have a lot of expansive soils. The clay we have I call pottery grade clay :P and it really wouldn't be good in an aquarium. Rocks are one thing, but still should be checked out by an experienced geologist.

Falina 06-28-2007 06:22 PM

I agree that it's not a good idea. If you like the look of it there's a substrate called EcoComplete (I think - don't quote me) which is semi-similar to soil, or at least as similar as I can think of. It's dark in colour and is less "gravelly" if you know what I mean.

dhritiman 06-29-2007 05:48 AM

OK can I use soil in substrate?????????


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2