Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   New 75G Planted Tank: Filtration / Amount of Plants (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/new-75g-planted-tank-filtration-amount-66762/)

zfarsh 03-31-2011 10:51 PM

New 75G Planted Tank: Filtration / Amount of Plants

Hi All, I am new to aquariums, though i have had many small aquariums in my life and taken care of Goldfish and Turtles, but never with any technologies such as filters, etc... So i would be doing water changes very often in my youth. That said, i am runing a small tank with HOB Filter, plants, fish, sand.

I want to buy a 75 G Tank, I can fit this in my Room, and it doesnt seem too high that i cant reach all that i want when comparing it to a 90G. Now I need serious help / criticism, i have never ventured in such a big tank, and i can really use the experience of pll doing this for a while. Pls help me with the filtration / amount of plant questions, as i know each setup is different, and one cannot know all the answers.

Desired Aquarium Setup:
75G Tank, 1 x 2217 Euheim Classic Canister with Sponge media / mechanical only, Black Sand, 6500K light fluorescent but on a open tank. Water Change every week of ~20%.
Desired Plants: Java Fern, Java Moss, Anubias, Hornwort, Duckweed, etc... (chosen for low light / not easily eaten plants by goldfish and not much heat). Also, some plants that have their root in water but body on top, such as Lucky Bamboo and Pothos
Desired Fishes in order of importance
#1) 5 - 6 Fancy Goldfish
#2) 2 3 BristleNose / Bushy Nose Plecos
#3) 1 3 Dojo Loach
#4) 2 5 male guppies
Questions: