Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Lighting requirements for floating cabomba? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/lighting-requirements-floating-cabomba-66614/)

HMlairy 03-30-2011 12:54 PM

Lighting requirements for floating cabomba?

I'm new to having artificial lighting in my 24g and was thinking of adding cabomba but floating.
Because I've never had light tubes before I have no idea what type to get to enable the cabomba to grow.
Any suggestions of types lighting tubes to get etc + please explain the whole way of ranking the bulbs and units of power for them etc.
Please respond, thank you :)

DKRST 03-30-2011 02:30 PM

There are some excellent stickies with information regarding lighting. Look under the aquarium plants section of the forum. Regarding the light, more is not always better. I made that mistake! Too much light=too much algae. What type of light fixture/hood do you currently have or want? That will dictate your lighting options.

Cabomba requires high light and high nutrients. There are several varieties of Cabomba. I have the purple and don't personally recommend it, it takes really high light. Mine does well floating right under my T5HO bulb, but gets spindly looking when planted in the tank. Your best bet is the Cabomba caroliniana, the green cabomba, which takes a little less light. I have grown that successfully in the past. Sometimes it grows, sometimes it won't. There are other stem plants that, for me, also seem to do well floating: Rotalia, Egeria densa (Elodea), etc.

HMlairy 03-30-2011 03:33 PM

That green cabomba is exactly what I have!
And the hood i want is Fish and Fins, uk - Aquarium hoods
The Clear Seal Crown hood 30x12 and it says: