Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Moving from a 30 Gal to a 55 Gal. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/moving-30-gal-55-gal-66171/)

29Kilo29 03-25-2011 02:55 PM

Moving from a 30 Gal to a 55 Gal.
 
Hi,
I might be moving from a 30 Gallon community tank to a 55 Gallon and I was just wondering if this can be done without having to cycle the 55 Gallon by moving the filter cartridge or something? The 55 Gallon will be in the basement and the 30 Gallon is currently on the 3rd floor, so what would be the best way to move everything, including fish?

Thanks

Christople 03-25-2011 04:25 PM

I'd go to pecto or petsmart and ask for some plastic bags and put the fish int there. If you don't plan on using the 30 any more you can use its filter on the 55 for a little bit. Also you can move a sponge from the 30 to the 55 and that should act as a jump start but do a fishless cycle for a little bit.

Christople 03-25-2011 04:26 PM

For plants just move them fast. They don't need to be in the water constantly and 1 min. won't hurt

Thoth 03-25-2011 04:28 PM

The beneficial bacteria is in the filter and in the substrate. If you move to the larger tank and add many more fish, the transferred bacteria may not be large enough to handle the fish waste. This could cause some spikes but should be easy to take care of with water testing and changes.

I have changed from a 20L to a 30 gallon. I put some of the tank water in a bucket, placed the fish in the bucket and set up the new tank. Once it was set up and the water temps were acceptable, I moved the fish from the bucket.

If you are moving the tank down stairs, I would still remove the fish first and remove almost all of the water. An empty 30 gallon tank weighs around 60 pounds and a gallon of water weighs around 8.5 pounds. It doesnt take long before the tank is too cumbersome to move. Plus the risk of the glass breaking during the move. You could remove substrate to another container to reduce the weight.

29Kilo29 03-25-2011 04:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Christople (Post 628933)
I'd go to pecto or petsmart and ask for some plastic bags and put the fish int there. If you don't plan on using the 30 any more you can use its filter on the 55 for a little bit. Also you can move a sponge from the 30 to the 55 and that should act as a jump start but do a fishless cycle for a little bit.

The only problem I have there is that if I move the cartridge to the 55 gallon and let it fish less cycle, there won't be anything for the filter in the 30 gal.

Is there anyway of setting up the 55 gallon, putting the cartridge from the 30 gal in the 55 gallon filter and moving the fish on the same day?

29Kilo29 03-25-2011 04:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thoth (Post 628938)
The beneficial bacteria is in the filter and in the substrate. If you move to the larger tank and add many more fish, the transferred bacteria may not be large enough to handle the fish waste. This could cause some spikes but should be easy to take care of with water testing and changes.

I have changed from a 20L to a 30 gallon. I put some of the tank water in a bucket, placed the fish in the bucket and set up the new tank. Once it was set up and the water temps were acceptable, I moved the fish from the bucket.

If you are moving the tank down stairs, I would still remove the fish first and remove almost all of the water. An empty 30 gallon tank weighs around 60 pounds and a gallon of water weighs around 8.5 pounds. It doesnt take long before the tank is too cumbersome to move. Plus the risk of the glass breaking during the move. You could remove substrate to another container to reduce the weight.

So if I were to put fish in a temporary house, then moved all the gravel, decorations and water to the 55 gal and then let it heat, then put the fish in they would be okay? I Would slowly add fish so that the transferred bacteria can adjust. Is the best way to transfer the bacteria moving the cartridge and sponge to the new filter?

Thoth 03-25-2011 04:53 PM

if you increase the size of the filter, the filter media will increase in size as well. It may not fit well which could make it work poorly. It will depend highly on your filter.

29Kilo29 03-25-2011 05:05 PM

Well I know I have to get a bigger filter, the one I have now is a 30 Top Fin so I would probably get a 55-75 Top Fin.

If the cartridge doesn't fit, am I stuck cycling the tank?

Thoth 03-25-2011 05:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 29Kilo29 (Post 628965)
So if I were to put fish in a temporary house, then moved all the gravel, decorations and water to the 55 gal and then let it heat, then put the fish in they would be okay? I Would slowly add fish so that the transferred bacteria can adjust. Is the best way to transfer the bacteria moving the cartridge and sponge to the new filter?

Yes and yes plus sand/gravel from the older tank. The temporary housing needs to be done in a few hours.

personally, I would make the move to the 55 gallon and put the old filter and a new filter on the 55 gallon (the new one sized for a 55 tank). Run them both for 6 weeks and once the newer filter designed for the 55 has the bacteria, remove the smaller filter and then you can set up the 30 gallon with the old filter. This will get around any filter media issues.

29Kilo29 03-25-2011 05:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thoth (Post 628982)
Yes and yes plus sand/gravel from the older tank. The temporary housing needs to be done in a few hours.

personally, I would make the move to the 55 gallon and put the old filter and a new filter on the 55 gallon (the new one sized for a 55 tank). Run them both for 6 weeks and once the newer filter designed for the 55 has the bacteria, remove the smaller filter and then you can set up the 30 gallon with the old filter. This will get around any filter media issues.

Ohh Okay that sounds good.

Just clearing up : Put fish in temporary house, break down 30 gallon and move everything to 55 gallon, heat 55 gallon, put fish in and put both filters running on 55 gallon, after 6 weeks remove smaller filter and start adding fish?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2