Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Gravel Rinsing Question. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/gravel-rinsing-question-66071/)

small fry 03-24-2011 10:24 AM

Gravel Rinsing Question.
 
Hey guys. I am switching around fish and tanks to give room for fish. If you check my Aquariums (or tanks, I can't remember which), you may notice that many of the fish are in a different tank than what you actually know them to be in. I have many fish in temporary setups, but I finally got a 10g tank, and that changes everything.

Anyway...off topic...anyway, I was wondering if there was a way too quickly add gravel to my tank after it is rinsed. I will do it as slow as I need to, but I am anxious to get this project finished, and if there is a faster way, why not take it?

Here is my question. I rinsed my gravel out of a package. The gravel looks like the floor at a McDonalds PlayPlace just to give you a picture of the color. I washed it with tap water (containing Chlorine, etc.). I usually let it sit for about 3 days so that the Chlorine can dry out and evaporate. Today I am in a hurry because I have a new little buddy coming in, and it requires a humidity of less than 100% (PM me for details)! I am so excited!

Off topic again lol. Anyway, I was wondering if putting it in a bucket and dechlorinating the water, stirring the water, de-chlorinating it again, and maybe do that one more time would work (note: do not try this unless it is approved by the thread. This is NOT a proven method!)? If anyone has any solutions or suggestions, please feel free to post. I will not ir-responsibely rush it if it is dangerous to the fish at all, but I would love to know if there was a safe, fast way to do it.

Thanks guys!:-D

small fry,

Pufferfish22 03-24-2011 10:42 AM

I've always just washed mine in tap water then used water conditioner in my last rinse and given it a really big swish about and then left for an hour. After this I drain it, give it a final rinse in conditioned water and use staright wawy. Never had any problems x

jeaninel 03-24-2011 03:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pufferfish22 (Post 627665)
I've always just washed mine in tap water then used water conditioner in my last rinse and given it a really big swish about and then left for an hour. After this I drain it, give it a final rinse in conditioned water and use staright wawy. Never had any problems x

+1

zof 03-24-2011 09:20 PM

I've always just rinsed and then added to tank, then filled tank with tap water and added the water conditioner wait a day or two for everything to settle then add fish. The Chlorine will come out with the use of the water conditioner when you fill the tank up, no reason to go overboard.

BTW a great way to clean gravel is to cut a two liter bottle apart and poke holes in the bottom just small enough for the gravel not to fall through but to let the water out, that way the water carries everything out and its just not sitting in a bucket.

LasColinasCichlids 03-24-2011 10:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zof (Post 628258)
I've always just rinsed and then added to tank, then filled tank with tap water and added the water conditioner wait a day or two for everything to settle then add fish. The Chlorine will come out with the use of the water conditioner when you fill the tank up, no reason to go overboard.


+1 on this method for me

jeaninel 03-24-2011 11:45 PM

I must have mis-read. I thought she was adding gravel to a tank that already had fish in it. If there are no fish in the tank, then you could just rinse the gravel in tap water, add it to the tank, fill with water and add your conditioner as suggested above.

Christople 03-25-2011 12:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by small fry (Post 627644)
Hey guys. I am switching around fish and tanks to give room for fish. If you check my Aquariums (or tanks, I can't remember which), you may notice that many of the fish are in a different tank than what you actually know them to be in. I have many fish in temporary setups, but I finally got a 10g tank, and that changes everything.

Anyway...off topic...anyway, I was wondering if there was a way too quickly add gravel to my tank after it is rinsed. I will do it as slow as I need to, but I am anxious to get this project finished, and if there is a faster way, why not take it?

Here is my question. I rinsed my gravel out of a package. The gravel looks like the floor at a McDonalds PlayPlace just to give you a picture of the color. I washed it with tap water (containing Chlorine, etc.). I usually let it sit for about 3 days so that the Chlorine can dry out and evaporate. Today I am in a hurry because I have a new little buddy coming in, and it requires a humidity of less than 100% (PM me for details)! I am so excited!

Off topic again lol. Anyway, I was wondering if putting it in a bucket and dechlorinating the water, stirring the water, de-chlorinating it again, and maybe do that one more time would work (note: do not try this unless it is approved by the thread. This is NOT a proven method!)? If anyone has any solutions or suggestions, please feel free to post. I will not ir-responsibely rush it if it is dangerous to the fish at all, but I would love to know if there was a safe, fast way to do it.

Thanks guys!:-D

small fry,

How recently have you been to mcdonalds play place? ;-)

small fry 03-25-2011 08:45 AM

Thanks guys! That sounds good.

(I am actually a guy lol)
(I went to McDonalds yesterday because my 7 year old little brother loves it alot)

Christople 03-25-2011 10:40 AM

Hahaha thats nice.I am the youngest.

jeaninel 03-25-2011 01:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by small fry (Post 628563)
(I am actually a guy lol)

Ooops....sorry.:oops:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2