Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Lowering Nitrites in a New 75 gal tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/lowering-nitrites-new-75-gal-tank-65143/)

LOTO Dave 03-13-2011 12:01 PM

Lowering Nitrites in a New 75 gal tank

Let me first acknowledge that I have some experience in freshwater community tanks but have not had one for the last 10 years. This board is awesome and has made me realize how much I don't really know. So here I am, and I need a little advice.

I have a 75 gallon, non-planted tank that has been set up since the 1st week of Feb. I have 2 medium and 2 large Malaysian driftwood pieces in the tank. Filtration is through an Emperor 400, which I've left alone other than to change the filter cartridges and add some additional carbon to the media baskets. I supplement water movement with a couple airstones at the moment. I have used Special Blend and Nite-Out products to help promote cycling.

pH was high early but since the driftwood was added has been pretty consistent at 7.8. I test hardness and alkalinity via strips, which have also been pretty consistent (120 hardness and 80 alkalinity). My tap water is very high pH (at the limit of 8.8 on my tesk kit), which I pull down to tank levels using Seachem's neutral regulator when I do water changes. I don't think this is a sustainable approach, am interested in thoughts about managing the pH since the tap is so high.