Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   automatic feeders (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/automatic-feeders-6502/)

reverendred 06-15-2007 03:06 PM

automatic feeders

well im leaving for ireland in 2 weeks and just found out all of my roommates are moving out while i am gone so i will need an automatic feeder. i need something relatively inexpensive since i am a college student on a paper thin budget.

any suggestions?

xingumike 06-15-2007 03:13 PM

how long you away for?

reverendred 06-15-2007 04:09 PM

2 weeks

mHeinitz57 06-15-2007 06:57 PM

You can get faily cheap automatic feeders (about $10-15) that will work ok for you. What kind of fish do you have in the tank? My main suggestion is that you should go buy an automatic feeder as soon as possible. Set it up on your tank and use it for a few days. This will give you time to make needed adjustments to it and allow you to monitor if it is working properly. It also gives you time to decide if you want to return it and try a different one if you don't like it. The do sell 14-day vacation feeders that disolve slowly in the water and releases food as it dissolves. Usually one feeder will feed 15 fish for 2 weeks. This is the cheaper option but if you decide to go this route, I would still go get one now and test it to make sure the fish will eat the food and that it doesnt foul your tank in a fast ammount of time. The key element is test out whatever you decide to get. Any of those products can work very well but some people have had negative experiences and some positive. You dont want to put something brand new on there and hope it works while you are gone.

MattD 06-15-2007 07:57 PM

Let me tell you something about automatic feeders.