Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   First Heavily Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/first-heavily-planted-aquarium-64659/)

lorax84 03-07-2011 07:24 PM

First Heavily Planted Aquarium

I have decided I want to try my hand at a heavily planted aquarium. I have read Byron's planted aquarium guide and both of my current tanks have live plants in them, but I have no experience with rooted plants like swords and cryps so I have a few questions.

The tank I am using is a 20H (24x12), here is what I was planning so far.

Substrate: Seachem Fourite
Lighting: 24" Power Compact (second hand so I am not sure about the bulbs)
Filter: Undecided
Residents: 3 Hypancistrus Contradens, Red Cherry shrimp, Possibly a group of Cardinal Tetras

So here are my questions.

- I would like to have a filter in the tank and have been thinking about the Fluval U2, has anyone used these with planted tanks? I have only really used aquaclear filters in the past so I am open to suggestions.

- How deep does the substrate need to be to anchor the plants.

- I am thinking of ordering a plant package from liveaquaria.com, has anyone ever ordered these and were you satisfied with the plants?

Thanks in advance for any answers you have

zof 03-07-2011 07:32 PM

-You can go with that filter if you want but one of the things I've observed, my plants have all done better with a smaller amount of flow, I switch from a HOB to a sponge and my plants (especially the surface ones) have growth alot better.