Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Characins (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/characins/)
-   -   10gal tank: What fish? (Have Tetra & Glo) (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/characins/10gal-tank-what-fish-have-tetra-63861/)

neocharles 02-26-2011 10:49 PM

10gal tank: What fish? (Have Tetra & Glo)

I have currently a 10 gallon tank with 2 tetra and 3 GloFish. Petsmart suggested I don't add more than ~5 at a time.

I would like to have more of each in here, and probably 1-2 algae eaters to assist in keeping my tank clean? (or something else similar?)

Any suggestions on time tables, or fish, to get?

Thanks!!

cornflakegirl 02-27-2011 02:05 AM

Hi there,
Im a beginner with the same size tank. I know i have too many fish in it though. 2 algae eaters, 2 glass catfish, 20 neon tetras, 4 black widow tetras, and two pearl gouramis!
Few...........i know...TOO many. i went to the aquarium shop and told them my size tank, and they said this would be fine .lol $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
Its been a few months now, and i have'nt lost one.
If i were you, id stay with all neons.
Cheers.

Lupin 02-27-2011 04:31 AM

Charles, what are the pH and hardness levels of your tank water? I'll need to know this so I will know whether to suggest you snails or not. Snails of all kinds require hard and alkaline water as soft acidic water only erodes their shells. Most shell damages are irreparable and can kill the snails.

Your 10g has limited space. I'd say 4 glofish and 6 neons will be enough. Give them enough space to be comfortable where they are. You may have to settle with snails instead of adding bottom dwelling fish. A lot of fish need plenty of space.

If your tank is heavily planted, you can give cherry shrimps a try. Your fish may eat the larva but the adults will probably be safe.

Grimmjow 02-27-2011 06:33 AM

Glofish = zebra danio

Quote: