Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   How much light (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/how-much-light-62646/)

Christople 02-13-2011 07:39 PM

How much light

Hi if I got flourite or aqua soi or a fertilized substrate would I be able to slow down on the lighting. By the way what is flourite

wannalearn 02-13-2011 09:11 PM

i am no expert, but i would assume that by using a fertizing substrate, thus increasing the ammount of fertilization you would need to INcrease the amount of light, to keep everything balanced. that way you will have decent growth. and if i am not mistaking increasing one side of the balance and not the rest will lead to major alge problems.. but i am sure someone more informed on the subject will chime in and inlighten us both..

Christople 02-13-2011 10:15 PM

ok I was just wondering if it would work but I plan on getting sufficient lighting

Byron 02-14-2011 12:35 PM

Wannalearn is generally correct, but the substrate itself will not usually impact the balance depending upon the whole.

To explain Flourite, which is manufactured by Seachem, it is a nutrient-enriched substrate intended for planted tanks. Eco-Complete is another similar product made by CaribSea. These are small-grain gravels (Flourite has one called "sand" which is the smallest) that contain essential nutrients. The nutrients are only released by the gravel as they are needed by plant roots coming into contact. An over-simplification, but the technical process is unknown to me and doesn't matter.