Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Cichlids (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/)
-   -   need more fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/need-more-fish-62268/)

itsfit 02-09-2011 10:00 AM

need more fish

Newbie here the fish tank we have is in the lobby at work I started to take care of it a little while ago the tank size about 20g or more but not more that 25g we had only one fish left when I started to take care of it. The fish was a convect cichlid so I bought two more. Well the older one past away he was about 8yrs old now I just have the two left,what kind of tank mates will work here?? what kind of alge eater is there? Oh the plants started to die off. this happened before I compleatly changed the rock and replaced all the rocks and filter mediums. Thanks in advance

itsfit 02-14-2011 09:18 AM

thanks for all the help worst forum ever

Guppie luver 02-14-2011 10:59 AM

ok ok i think maby u need to get more plants and find out what kinda fish u want if i was u i would ditch the convict chiclids and go for guppies or plats or danios or all of them because they are very easy trust me

Byron 02-14-2011 12:52 PM

My sources recommend convict cichlids in a species tank, that is, on their own. They can be very belligerent with even larger fish. In a very large tank, say 5-6 feet in length, other medium Central American cichlids could manage, but not in something as small as a 20g.

Are you sure the tank is only 20g? What are the dimensions. A 20g is normally 24 inches long, and that is not adequate housing for 2-3 convicts. A 3-foot long tank is minimum for their health long-term.

I'm sorry other members haven't responded yet, I guess the chiclid aficionados are not around presently.

Byron.

clayton1169 02-17-2011 12:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by itsfit (Post 590092)
thanks for all the help worst forum ever