Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Lighting advise for a total noob (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/lighting-advise-total-noob-61931/)

JayS 02-05-2011 06:50 PM

Lighting advise for a total noob

This is my second time working with a tank and my first time putting in the research to create a planted one. So I am the first to admit that I'm a total noob and am extremely susceptible to "opinion" which I find a great deal of on the topic. My biggest confusion is lighting. First I read "blue spectrum lighting" so I get Aquatic - Products. Now I see that I need at least 2 watts / gal and this is only a 15 watt bulb in a 20 gal tank. The hood fixture only has a spot for 1 bulb and doesn't support anything higher than 15 watts. So, before I spend the money on a new light fixture I would like to get some advise based on what I have, have done and am looking to do.