Tropical Fish Keeping banner

Replacing Substrate?

8K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  Sikka 
#1 ·
First, is it okay to replace the substrate in an established tank? I realize some of the beneficial bacteria would be removed in the process of removing the current gravel.

If it's not out of the question to do this, how do you do it? I don't currently have a holding tank to transfer my fish to. The way this has played out in my mind would be that I vacuum the current gravel, and then manually remove it from the tank over the course of a few days.

I'd like to replace it with a dark sand (purely for the purpose of easier maintenance), but I'm not sure adding two pounds of sand (gradually, of course) to a tank with fish swimming around in it would be wise...

This is a ten gallon tank with 3 corys, 3 rasboras, and 5 neons.

I'm new to the hobby, so let me know if I'm totally off base, here.

Thanks!

#2 ·
Honestly you are going to find the sand harder to maintain then gravel. With gravel the waste falls down in to the gravel and disinergrates. With sand it will sit on top and float around which will take away from the appeal of your tank. I would honestly just stick with the gravel unless you want to have to clean your tank once a week

#9 ·
Sand is much easier to maintain than gravel in my opinion for the waste is easily removed from the surface .If filter is rated properly for tank's size,then little waste should be floating about unless one is overfeeding.
Food and waste that falls down into gravel does not break down completely and excess of this,,is what gives rise to dirty tanks and sick fish sooner or later.
All tanks could benefit from once a week cleaning and many hobbyist's do so without much trouble.

#3 · (Edited)