Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   Surface skimming same as a protein skimmer? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/surface-skimming-same-protein-skimmer-61679/)

vashachiroku 02-02-2011 11:14 PM

Surface skimming same as a protein skimmer?
 
I've very new to salt water tanks. I have an intank pump style protein skimmer. I did noticed that the top of my water is sometimes hard to keep clean and was wondering if there is anyway to keep it cleaner. Searching around I came across a thread here talking about water skimming, but I wasn't sure my protein skimmer is already doing the same thing.

http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/w...r-tanks-55195/

If anyone can clear up my confusion that would be great!

reefsahoy 02-03-2011 06:37 AM

it's not the same thing. but is most effective in conjunction with protien skimmers. surface skimming is what makes a reef ready tank different than a regular tank. basically water fills the tank and overflows into a box then goes to a sump or some sort of filter. if you look at the filterbox you'll notice water surface overflowing into it. the slime on the surface is lighter than the actual water so it floats. if you have a filter that draws water from the bottom the waste will never get filtered out off the surface simply because it never gets pulled into the filter, hence surface skimming.

vashachiroku 02-03-2011 06:44 AM

Thought so from my reading, so can you recommend some to buy it would have to be hang on since I dont have a sump system.

Mine is a 260liter saltwater tank with an External eheim pump and inline water chiller (live in Singapore) I tried using a net, but that gets old and it doesnt seem to get most of it out.

reefsahoy 02-03-2011 07:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vashachiroku (Post 578443)
Thought so from my reading, so can you recommend some to buy it would have to be hang on since I dont have a sump system.

Mine is a 260liter saltwater tank with an External eheim pump and inline water chiller (live in Singapore) I tried using a net, but that gets old and it doesnt seem to get most of it out.

do you already have a protien skimmer?

vashachiroku 02-03-2011 07:08 AM

Yes I have a protein skimmer, its an intank with a internal pump, held on by a magnet.

reefsahoy 02-03-2011 07:09 AM

i'll recommend one, however there's a catch if you don't have a sump. you will have to topoff evaporated water for it to work best, this is the reason it's highly recommended to have a sump because it will allow you to go longer periods of time without having to topoff evap water. here' a skimmer that uses an overflow box. it's called aquac remora. take note because there are several sizes with different pumps and you'll need to match the overflow box to the size of the pump.

http://www.aquacave.com/images/Remora%201.jpg
and the overflow box option

http://www.aquacave.com/images/Remor...rfSkim%201.jpg

there are other brand of skimmer that does this too.

reefsahoy 02-03-2011 07:15 AM

you can also lay paper towels on the surface of the water and it will "catch" all the surface gunk. then remove the paper towel and all the gunk. this will take care of the stuff but you will have to do that on a continuous daily basis.

vashachiroku 02-03-2011 07:30 AM

cool thanks I'll look for one of those this week! I do have another concern so here is what my setup has been.

Dec 1st 2010 got the tank running with just water and nothing else
Jan 20th 2011 Added live rocks 30kg roughly

My Sanity is 1.026
pH is 8.4
Amm = 0
Nitrite = 0
Nitrate = 25mg/l

That nitrate bugs me because it hasn't went down at all since I put the live rock in I thought it was suppose too? I still have no fish in my tank yet because of that. I do have two electric blue hermit crabs and two snails that made it home with the live rocks.

Am I not doing something rights?

reefsahoy 02-03-2011 07:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vashachiroku (Post 578459)
cool thanks I'll look for one of those this week! I do have another concern so here is what my setup has been.

Dec 1st 2010 got the tank running with just water and nothing else
Jan 20th 2011 Added live rocks 30kg roughly

My Sanity is 1.026
pH is 8.4
Amm = 0
Nitrite = 0
Nitrate = 25mg/l

That nitrate bugs me because it hasn't went down at all since I put the live rock in I thought it was suppose too? I still have no fish in my tank yet because of that. I do have two electric blue hermit crabs and two snails that made it home with the live rocks.

Am I not doing something rights?

no i think you're ok but i would guess your rocks are just new and not doing the job yet. here's a picture of the cycle process of an aquarium

http://aqadvisor.com/articles/CyclingGraph.gif

vashachiroku 02-03-2011 07:50 AM

Not that I dont think the rocks are good, but how do I know they are working? I bought them from the local shop the guy owns about 4 of them in the area.

I've also been adding this super battle bacteria 10000 the guy said i needed too.

SUPER BATTLE BACTERIA 10.000 • www.koipalace.net

I guess its just more of a waiting game from here on out.

thanks for your replies!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2