Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Characins (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/characins/)
-   -   Hello everyone I am a beginner and I need your help! :) (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/characins/hello-everyone-i-am-beginner-i-60383/)

leogtr 01-19-2011 11:32 PM

Hello everyone I am a beginner and I need your help! :)

20 gallon tank.
1 week in its cycle.

Future fish: Neon Tetras, Glofish & otos

The tank is full of artificial plants and corals, decorations and one living plant. I have also used tetra safe start, stress zyme, stress coat and neutral regulator. The filter is a Aqueon quietflow 30 which is for 45 gallon tanks. I am also using a fluval aquarium heater of 150 watts. An air pump has also been added for oxygen in the water. I have been testing the water for ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, hardness, chlorine, alkalinity, and of course the pH. this test kit is thesame one used by the petsmart. I get positive readings for everything when I first look at the strips-- exept that when I look at it the next day the test strips indicate that the nitrate level is at 40, and the nitrite level is at 3.0 which falls in the stress line in the scale.:err:

I am very patient with this thing and the only reason I am is because I really really dont want to go through any loss of fish in the biggining. it makes me sad.:BIGweepy:

I am wondering if the effect of the atmosphere has something to do with the changes overnight in the testing strips? I have tried to learn as much as I can about these fish and I want them to be happy and Ill wait as long as possible to add the fish.

please help!

thank you!!!:fish:

brancasterr 01-20-2011 02:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by leogtr (Post 564637)
20 gallon tank.
1 week in its cycle.

Future fish: Neon Tetras, Glofish & otos