Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Am I killing my babies? pH going up, HELP! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/am-i-killing-my-babies-ph-59816/)

mom2thebest2 01-13-2011 08:59 PM

Am I killing my babies? pH going up, HELP!
 
Just tested my water thinking I may do a partial water change since I'm now paranoid about the load, being I added so fish many so fast. (Cycled tank for 2.5 weeks, then last night added 13 fish and a pleco. I know... I know...) My pH is going up, it's probably 7.4-7.6 if I had to guess (the chart goes from 7.2 straight to 7.8, no inbetween) It was about 7.2 before the fish were added. The Alkalinity is on moderate, water is hard, Nitrite is on caution, Nitrate is fine. Fish seem fine. Ideas? I will do a water change, I will go to the store and get whatever I need. But I'm upset with myself for overloading too fast and I'm hoping someone can help me. I've only got the strips for testing but I will go find whatever you suggest if I can. Please help my babies they shouldn't suffer for my stupidity.

Curt 01-13-2011 09:13 PM

That PH is not high. Its best not to try and play around with it unless your natural water is way to high or way to low. The PH in my water here in orlando is 8.6 out of the tap.

I have no choice but to treat my water. I use API proper PH 7.0 and it maintains my ph at 7.0 or 7.2 The only time I need to add more is during a water change. I would not worry so much about 7.6

I have found that drop tests are much better than testing strips as far as accuracy. I had test strips that I used back to back one strip said one thing the other was different.

Curt 01-13-2011 09:14 PM

Also I did the same its hard to say no too fish lol!

mom2thebest2 01-13-2011 09:36 PM

In the last 2 days I have learned the inaccuracy of the strips and will get a kit tomorrow to double check my levels. And straight out of the tap is showing the same levels as the tank. But that makes sense since all I used was 5 1/2 tablets of the pH stuff to make it the right pH. That was when I set it up, so a couple weeks ago. Which would mean it's not still in there. Maybe add another round?

Calmwaters 01-13-2011 10:03 PM

I would wait until you get the good test kit and check it then. If your fish seem fine they probably are. It is not a good idea to add anything to the water to adjust ph it can cause the fish to go into shock and stress them out at water changes.

mom2thebest2 01-13-2011 10:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Calmwaters (Post 559211)
I would wait until you get the good test kit and check it then. If your fish seem fine they probably are. It is not a good idea to add anything to the water to adjust ph it can cause the fish to go into shock and stress them out at water changes.

So if my strip results are the same right out of the faucet and in the tank (and the good test confirms that) AND they survive, I can just dump in water without treating it at all, when I do water changes?! I've ALWAYS used the pH tablets, thought that was the most important thing. See how much I'm learning?!

Curt 01-13-2011 10:44 PM

Its more harm to the fish to play with the PH than it is to have it at a perfect 7. Also depending on the fish some do better in lower some in higher. Its only when its extreame you want to mess with it.

Plus your tap water has a natural buffer for its PH. Meaning you can drop chemicals in it to adjust it but the water will rebound on its own to what it was before.

This is why I use proper ph 7.0 since i would be tossing in more chemicals than water to adjust it. With my natural ph being so high I have to lower it. The only other thing I could do is buy water.. But as often as I change water i would be broke lol.

From my understanding as long as your under 8 you should be ok.

If your tap ph is coming out to be 7.5 7.6 i would not bother adding anything to the water to adjust.

This is just my opinion :D

Curt 01-13-2011 10:45 PM

I also forgot to mention you may not want to treat it for ph but def condition it for the chlorine.

Calmwaters 01-13-2011 10:47 PM

I agree with Curt. ; )

mom2thebest2 01-13-2011 10:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Curt (Post 559254)
I also forgot to mention you may not want to treat it for ph but def condition it for the chlorine.

Yes, I have stuff for that and I did do it when I filled the tank. I will test tomorrow with the good test and hope they continue to look ok. Thanks!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2