Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Livebearers (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/)
-   -   Molly Aggresion Problem (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/molly-aggresion-problem-59188/)

Skunkmang 01-06-2011 07:48 PM

Molly Aggresion Problem

Hello this is my first post, i have been searching for hours for help and i keep getting directed to these threads and you all seem to be very friendly and knowledgeble just the sort of community i think i should seek help from.

Now I am a novice when it comes to Aquariums i have had mine close to a year and it has had a colourful history. I will not describe it all here as i am quite long winded (or fingered for the purpose of typing :) )

Anyways i have 3 Mollies in my 10g aquarium as well as 2 swordtails but they are not being bothered. 2 are female and 1 is male the 1 F and the M are Creamcicle? that is the name they were sold under anyways and 1 F is a Dalmatian. Ok so 3 days ago i found 1 fry in the bottom of the tank (alive) while cleaning it and put it in a breeder trap i was not sure which F was t the Mother so i put them both in with the divider in place incase they weren't finished... well i guess that was bad i think the fry swam up and got eaten :( i am so sad... anyways now the M is picking on my Dal.F in a bad way and i am scared for her. I have as of now separated the M (put him in the breeder) to try and keep her safe but in the absence of the male the Cream.F is nipping at the Dal.F...

I don't know what to do. i am putting together a 40g but it is no where near operational (only have the glass)

Are fish Racist? lol

Any suggestions? i can't get another female in there cause i know now that the tank is pretty much overstocked as it is. Should i just let him out and hope for the best? or is something else wrong? I can only assume that it was her that had the baby.