Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Advice on starting planted tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/advice-starting-planted-tank-59146/)

jrmy000 01-06-2011 04:30 AM

Advice on starting planted tank

Don't know if this is the right place to post but here goes.

So i've been running a 25g tank for around 6 months now quite successfully (No deaths or diseases) and decided i would like to try at a planted aquarium. I've been to my lfs and asked for some advice on products that i need+would benefit. Was told that fluorite substrate with a fertilizer would help keep my plants going nicely and that i needed around 6-7cm depth of substrate. So i've gone with their advice and purchased that along with a new filter (Fluval u3). I was also told that i would need around 2-2.5 watts/gallon for some medium level plants. So i purchased another double t8 light fitting (15w x2) to go along with the one i've already had. Oh, Forgot to say. The tubes are 7100k. I've also been told by a friend that you can buy UV lights, Although i'm not sure that i need them. I've seen alot of people on these forums talking about Co2 systems. Is this something i need to have success with a planted aquarium, If so how do i go about setting a system up?

I'm planning to transfer my fish into a spare 20g tank thats been cycling for about 2 weeks with my golden barbs in it.

How long should a cycle the new setup for before i add the fish back into it?

What plants would you guys recommend for my aquarium?

Its 60cm long and 40cm tall with a total capacity of just under 25gallons. The fish a currently have are: 3 Sajica (T-Bar) Cichlids Around 5-7 cm long.
4 golden barbs at around 4cm long (2 males 2 females).
A single 5 cm long bristle nose catfish.