Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Cichlids (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/)
-   -   Brought home and Angel Fish and he's scared (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/brought-home-angel-fish-hes-scared-58798/)

CodyL1121 01-02-2011 05:28 PM

Brought home and Angel Fish and he's scared

First off, hello :) I'm Cody

Now that my introduction is over I am a PURE beginner at having fish, so I need some help :)

I just brought home 1 angelfish and he's about quarter size. I have a 10 gallon tank. I put him in and all he does is sit in this one spot behind this fake seaweed. I've had him for maybe an hour and a half and he hasn't moved. I know he's scared because he's in a new environment. The lady at Petsmart said I can see how he does for 14 days and if he is doing good I can get another fish to put in there with him. When I first put him in he hid by the filter, and the filter was kind of pulling him so I got the net and got him away from it. We can't tell if the filter is too strong for him. The filter came with the aquarium and its for 5-10 gallon tanks. But the surface of the water is moving a lot. We put fish food in there for him and the fish food was moving around like crazy due to the filter. We turned it off for 15 minutes to see if he would move but he he didnt. Is something wrong with the filter? The temperature is 78 in the tank right now, so I think thats fine. And we got the water tested and the lady said it was perfect. Is my angelfish just scared right now? Is my filter ok for him?

Kazzy 01-02-2011 05:59 PM

From what I'm reading, 1 angelfish needs 10 gallons, so don't think you'll be able to add more. Secondly, and most importantly, did you cycle your tank?

CodyL1121 01-02-2011 06:01 PM