Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Question regarding heater/temperature for these tropical fish... (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/question-regarding-heater-temperature-these-tropical-58686/)

Jessibel 01-01-2011 09:38 AM

Question regarding heater/temperature for these tropical fish...

Happy New Year Everyone!!

Newbie here! Have a 14 gal tank, currently with Zebra Danios and will be adding a small school of Neon Tetras OR Cardinal Tetras in a few weeks...

I'm having an issue with the 50Watt heater that came with the tank setup. From the start, the 'on' light never worked but it seemed to be heating the water gradually anyway... however, the temp stopped rising at 73 degrees and no amount of adjusting will seem to increase it any further. (i.e. I think the heater's busted.) I picked up a new 50W heater yesterday but when I went to open the box, I realized I had gotten the one with no temperature adjustment.:-?

It is the "Tetra Submersible Heater - 50W - for 2-15 gallon aquaruims"
It says it will maintain the temp at 78 +-2 degrees. I'm concerned because the Zebras' temp range is 65-77F. The Neons' is 68-78F and the Cardinals' is 73-81F ...

Coomparing the ranges, I'm thinking the best option for the other school will be the Neons... but If the Zebras' range is 77 max, and technically the heater could maintain 80F would it be a better idea to return this heater and find an adjustable one? Does anyone have experience with this particular heater? Have you found it generally runs high or low?