Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   1st timer requiring some knowledge (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/1st-timer-requiring-some-knowledge-57157/)

Raisis 12-10-2010 02:08 PM

1st timer requiring some knowledge

Hi Everyone,

I have just purchased a Interpet Fishbox 40, which is a 48L tropical tank, with Thermo and 3 stage filter, as I am new to all this it seemed a good choice, as it's a full starter kit. I would like to know from experienced fish keepers as to how many fish I can have in the tank, and also, what would be a good mix of tropical fish I can purchase here in the UK.

Many Thanks to you all.

thefishboy 12-10-2010 02:12 PM

Hello fellow Uk'er... Nice statre there are many options for a 10g...
Heres a few..
Celestial Pearl Danio / Galaxy Rasboras
Ember Tetras
Pygmy Corydoras
A single Betta Splenden but that would be pretty much it....
And there are plenty more but oither 'pros' will chime in soon. Have fun!

Cashmeresocks 12-10-2010 02:20 PM

If you stick with a certain group, like tetras, you will be pretty safe. Watch out for how big your fish will be when they are adults. Go to the fish store, mark down what fish they have, and do a little research on them. Find out what kind of water paramaters they need (pH, temp, hardness, etc.) and then find fish that all have simillar needs.

Remember to cycle your tank first, before you stock, or you will have problems. A quick search on cycling an aquarium will give you lots of info.

Avoid over-stocking. Find fish that like to swim in different areas of the tank like top, middle, and bottom, so they are not all competing for the same space.

Read the Forums, just read. You will absorb lots of knowledge.

Raisis 12-10-2010 02:22 PM