Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Broken Light hood (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/broken-light-hood-57046/)

Creat 12-08-2010 10:19 PM

Broken Light hood
 
So as I was going to turn on the hood this morning the switch, which is a push button, fell off. :-? I still have the spring inside of it but it wont turn on and now my puffer fish are stuck in the dark. Is their a way to fix it? or do i have to go get a new one?

Mikaila31 12-09-2010 02:33 PM

Can you post a pic or link tell me the exact make and type of the hood. Don't work a broken switch is no issue. There are 3 options here:

1. You can repair the switch IF it is feasible.
2. You can replace the switch, of course you need a new power switch which should be cheap. It probably won't look like your old power switch though.
3. You can just take the broken switch out.

Of course option one would probably be the best for you. 2 and 3 will require taking it apart, which is probably pretty easy. You will need to know the very basics of how to make a wire connection, or find someone that does. In all honesty though taking the switch out and/or wiring around it should take 30 minuets max. Putting a new one in would depend on the type of the original and the new switch and mainly how long mounting it takes and if you would need a drill... You don't NEED a power switch. I use timers on all my tanks. Some of my expensive high light fixtures I built for over $100 don't have power switches, simply for no other reason then I just don't use them. I have lots of spare power switches too.

If you have never done electrical work don't just assume you can't do it. Its pretty damn easy where this is concerned. If the switch is not fixable your just talking about cutting two wires and either making two connections to a new switch or simply connecting them to each other.

Creat 12-09-2010 03:07 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I can do most electrical work so that doesnt scare me it looks like plastic broke off im just not sure how to put it back together again :-(
Attachment 20554

Mikaila31 12-09-2010 03:52 PM

Oooooooo....... If thats an aqueon incandescent fixture thats not just the switch its also the only mounting point for the whole socket.

Creat 12-09-2010 04:02 PM

Is their a way to fix it? it looks like the plastic part broke off would cement glue hold it back together or should i just go get a new hood? I dont really ant to because I dont really have the money

Mikaila31 12-09-2010 04:38 PM

No its defiantly fixable. The switch though I don't think can be simply glued back together, but you can try. It being a crappy aqueon is going to make it harder:-?. First though can you take it off the tank and flip it over. Remove bulb and the condensation "sheild" if it has one. Take a picture of the underside please. I have one of these for a 5 gallon and will tinker with mine to see if you can get to where you need to get too to fix it. Mine has already been majorly modified and I forget what was originally in it( apparently crap since I took most of it out).

Also if this is a fixture for a 5 gallon you can more then double its output using the materials already inside it and a little tinfoil. You would need some tools though. You don't change much of anything, you just get rid of everything that is not the socket and center the socket. What I do know/ still have is the main socket/ switch which is actually fused together. The switch is built into the incandescent socket, which is like riveted together:-?. Below is a pic of my fused socket. You can see where yours broke. That part that broke off yours is actually 3 pieces. The part you push in, the plastic nut, and part of the threaded area which is where it actually broke.... On my fixture that little plastic nut is really the only thing holding the entire socket and bulbs in the hood. But IDK if it was like that originally...

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b3...1/P1180504.jpg

Creat 12-09-2010 04:45 PM

which way does the metal spring fit into (one side is flat the other has a Philips head like top)? and mine is a five gallon hood light also but i think it only has one bulb vs yours which looks like two bulbs. I'll tinker with it and see what I can do...

Mikaila31 12-09-2010 05:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Creat (Post 530806)
which way does the metal spring fit into (one side is flat the other has a Philips head like top)? and mine is a five gallon hood light also but i think it only has one bulb vs yours which looks like two bulbs. I'll tinker with it and see what I can do...

Once you start tinkering you will realize my hood WAS the same as yours. This should be the exact same socket that you have in your hood. Aqueon strives to make no logic in there designs. Your fixture should have a dual "two-bulb" socket. The original design however has it shoved over to one side and only running one bulb. I bought the whole tank, hood, and filter at a garage sale for $2 (in bad shape). I noticed it was a dual socket after buying it and as soon as I did I simply tore everything out of the hood and rearranged it so I could fit a bulb on both sides.

I'm not quiet sure what you mean by spring... The part you push goes with the fatter end going in first.

Creat 12-12-2010 12:47 PM

Lol you were right I did have a double socket. Company fail XD and I managed to get it all back together again. So how did you put the two bulbs into the hood? Since it was cheap I wouldn't mind tearing it apart and redoing it the way you did.

Mikaila31 12-12-2010 01:40 PM

Well you probably know what the original design looks like better then me. In the simplest means just tear everything out of the hood and drill a new whole to mount the socket in at the center of the hood. The plastic shell of the hood will has some molded mounting holes and other things on the inside. These need to be snapped or cut off. Hot glue a bunch of tinfoil in there. Run like 2x13watt bulbs or 2x14 watt bulbs MAX. That is more then enough light for a 5 gallon and it the highest wattage the socket is rated for. I would suggest something lower like 2x9watt or 2x7 watts if the light is too much. While you are at it I would replace those cheap wire nuts with something halfway waterproof. Pisses me off to no end that these designers think its okay to put wirenuts in a aquarium hood that has no condensation tray. Heat shrinks tubes cost $1.50 for a lot of them.

Original looks something like this torn apart.
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b3...1/P1080452.jpg


Remove all the blue plastic parts that were in your way.
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b3...1/P1080455.jpg

Drill a hole for mounting the socket.
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b3...1/P1080456.jpg

Mount socket and just run wires through original hole.
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b3...1/P1080459.jpg

Reflectors
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b3...1/P1080460.jpg

Now you have light. My 5 gallon does run 26 watts, but it is a paludarium. This is too much light for a aquarium, you will lots of algae. I run the same exact bulbs and wattage on a 15 gallon and can grow lots of plants in there.
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b3...1/P1080461.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2