Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Ludwigia Help! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/ludwigia-help-56593/)

northlakefarm 12-02-2010 08:29 AM

Ludwigia Help!

Hey guys, I'm new here, so this is my first shot at asking a question in a forum! I read the "read this first before posting" so I'm gonna give it my best shot!
SO, my tank has been running for about six months. My Ludwigia has been with me the whole time. I'm a beginner to this so bear with me!
I have a 20 gallon, with 6 fish and a snail. One of the fish is an "algae eater." My lighting is used, so I dont know a lot about it. I know it is a flourescent 15W bulb. I got this tank used, and before I had it, the bulb was used to grow...err...not aquarium plants.
So, recently I added some "pond plants" and my Ludwigia has been growing still, but it's new growths are coming out light yellow, almost white. So I told dude at my LFS about this and he told me it was likely an Iron deficiency. So, I got some plant food. This was a week ago, and I'm not seeing any improvement. My hornwort grows A LOT slower, and so does my pond plant, but they seem to look just fine. Now, this is all I'm doing for my plants. No CO2 or anything like that. Just the lights, and the food. I leave my light on 12 hrs and 12 hrs just about.
Just tested my water, and everything came out great (which it has been cycling religiously for about two months, maybe more) yay, but as usual my Nitrates are a bit high, just shy of 20 ppm. I've heard this is ok, but I'm not sure!!
HELP! My Ludwigia is my original plant, what am I missing?
I can add some pics of yall need to see...

Byron 12-02-2010 10:23 AM

Hi, and welcome to Tropical Fish Keeping forum.