Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Cichlids (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/)
-   -   Good Cichlids? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/good-cichlids-5616/)

Mating Slinkys 05-04-2007 12:06 PM

Good Cichlids?

Hey folks, i just got a 30g tank (a fluval duo deep 800) and i plan to move my angel fish from my smaller tank to the bigger one so they have a chance to grow without touching the sides! I have two kribs as well and i really like the idea of setting up a cichlid tank. I'm not very experienced with cichlids, but i've been told they are awesome, so i'd like to see what i can do. What cichlids could i have in there with the kribs and the angels. also what sort of setup would suit them best? Cheers.

leifthebunny 05-04-2007 01:00 PM

I wouldn't recommend the Kribs & Angelfish in the same tank. Kribs tend to get nippy. I'm setting up my tank for angelfish and use German Blue & Gold Rams. I'm also going to get a variety of Apistogrammas for my tank (currently a male/female pair of flame tails). Geophagus are also pretty placid.

Mating Slinkys 05-04-2007 01:31 PM

The kribs and angel fish seem to be pretty happy living with each other at the moment, but it might be better to leave the kribs in the smaller tank and base the new tank around the angels...

Falina 05-04-2007 04:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mating Slinkys
The kribs and angel fish seem to be pretty happy living with each other at the moment, but it might be better to leave the kribs in the smaller tank and base the new tank around the angels...

If they are doing well just now you could keep them together.

The rams and apistos were good recommendations, but just be careful not to overstock because as I'm sure you know, the angels are going to get big.

Mating Slinkys 05-04-2007 06:55 PM

Quote: