Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Nano Reef (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/nano-reef/)
-   -   Beginner with Saltwater: Would like to start a 2 gallon pico reef (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/nano-reef/beginner-saltwater-would-like-start-2-a-56133/)

Backer 11-24-2010 08:39 PM

Beginner with Saltwater: Would like to start a 2 gallon pico reef

Hey guys,

I have been keeping freshwater aquariums for about 4 years now, but have never dealt with saltwater and would LOVE to have a huge salt water tank someday but being as I am a student I don't have the money for it. I was wondering where I could get some good information on first off how/where to start as far as a small 2 gallon pico should go. And second what type of coral could I keep in it. I only want some coral. So in short If someone could help me by telling me or pointing me in the right direction for these type of questions:

Filtration for a 2 gallon pico?
Lighting?
Live rock? (what is it?)
Substrate?
Temp/parameters?
Compatible coral life?
Does cycling apply to starting a salt tank?
Maintenance?
Basic Rundown of what I should expect?

Just want to make sure I have the knowledge base before I dive in with my time and money, Thanks for any and all help in advance :)

Pasfur 11-24-2010 09:24 PM

This topic comes up from time to time on the forum and the conversation always goes in the same direction. Unfortunately it seems that this topic causes more ill feelings than any other topic. The reason is that the answer to the question is not at all what the original poster wants to hear. For that, I will apologize in advance. Nevertheless, it does not change the response.