Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Fish Breeding (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/fish-breeding/)
-   -   Platy ready give brith (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/fish-breeding/platy-ready-give-brith-56032/)

mpertz 11-23-2010 02:09 PM

Platy ready give brith

I'm fairly new to breeding with Freshwater Fish. I noticed my platy looks a bit chunkier then usually a few weeks ago, I'd say about 2-3 weeks ago. I purchased a floating breeding box today and placed her in there. She does not seem to like it one bit. Shes desperately trying to get out.

I was wondering if someone experienced with breeding can tell me if she looks like shes gonna give birth soon and if putting here in the breeding box was the right thing.

I will attach 2 youtube video links:
First one was taken today

and this one was taken a week or so ago

Thanks for the help.

Mike

Chicklet 11-23-2010 05:50 PM

Stressing her out isn't going to help her or her young,
Stress can very easily cause her to abort to early,

I would release her back into the tank where shes more relaxed.
Give cover for the young to hide into and be diligent in recovering the young when you see she has had them.

I'm not going to load the vidoes.
Because honestly a picture can be deceiving not to mention the fact that fish can and often will hold their young until they decide to drop them, So it could be tomorrow or it could be another month or more before she has any fry.

zof 11-23-2010 06:16 PM