Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   10 g Aquascape help (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/10-g-aquascape-help-55996/)

ForestGupp705 11-22-2010 09:17 PM

10 g Aquascape help
 
Recently just purchased a 10 gallon tank used..

This is my first time aquascaping a tank, I have a 30 gallon planted tank but i did not plan it properly or as the way i wanted to... Anyways, I was thinking about dedicating the tank to tetras or maybe a puffer.. The lfs where i live has red eye puffers in stock :-P..

Any suggestions on what type of substrate i should use, I want to try a soil substrate for this tank..

I was thinking of having one side of the tank a driftwood log with java moss, anubias bateri and floating water wisteria around itthen the other side of the tank with smaller cyprtocoryne parva like plants, im not sure which ones, Any suggestions?

Im still debating on using co2 i would love to try it, i have had much success with a non co2 planted aquarium, i have a co2 setup from nutrifin i was givin, might put it too use.. What do you think? Co2 or Non low tech

Thanks for the suggestion :)

SinCrisis 11-23-2010 08:23 AM

You seem pretty set on soil so just use soil as ur substrate. It should be covered by something though, since soil will float. Using mineralized soil works or organic potting soil. It can get a little messy, esp with the water adding phase when some soil will float around at the top of your tank before they get water logged.

As for aquascaping, are you trying to mimic an existing style or just creating your own?

ForestGupp705 11-23-2010 02:44 PM

Thanks for the reply SinCrisis,

I still am planning this tank, it wont be up till janurary so i will need to do more research in that time.. :) I want to kind of recycle a exsisting style, If you know what I mean. Im still on the Substrate part trying to learn more, At the Lfs in town they have a soil"essque" substrate called "CaribSea Eco-Complete Planted Aquarium Substrate" will mineralized soil be needed for this product?

CaribSea Planted Aquarium | Eco-Complete Planted | Eco-Complete Red | Floramax

redchigh 11-23-2010 03:35 PM

If you're only in it for the nutrients, then it'll work fine by itself and be much easier.

It just won't produce CO2 like topsoil is all.

ForestGupp705 11-23-2010 04:02 PM

hmm true. I scrapped the co2 idea and want to go with another lowtech tank..:P So if i used this product with top soil would that be a good idea? The co2 produced by the inhabitants should be sufficcent?

SinCrisis 11-23-2010 04:17 PM

if you need to supplement CO2, you can try using Flourish Excel which is liquid carbon used to substitute CO2. I have it but i think i rarely use it. When i do, i see growth spurts in my plants, but my plants arent hurt from the lack of it. Ur inhabitants and decaying organic material should be enough.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2