Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   First Legit Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/first-legit-aquarium-55986/)

KurtLoach 11-22-2010 07:02 PM

First Legit Aquarium

Hey all! First off, let me say I have some experience when it comes to taking care of fish, both in ponds and aquariums. I know a few things about them, but I'm essentially a beginner.

I have a 20 gallon tank lying around (30" long x 12" deep x 12" wide) and I plan to buy some fish. I have all the necessary equipment, too. I just need the fish. I want some cool fish to watch.

I currently plan to buy the following fish (although I want your advice and opinions, too):

Tank Temperature: 75 F.
Tank pH: 7.5 (What's the cheapest way to measure alkalinity?)
Tank filled 9" so the frogs don't jump out.

For the bottom of the tank:
3 Kuhli Loaches
1 Golden Weather Loach
2 or 3 3" or so shrimp (I saw some at petsmart but I don't remember the type. It deifnitely wasn't ghost shrimp)
OR half a dozen or so ghost shrimp (it's okay if they're food)

2 African Dwarf Frogs. I plan to have a middle platform that makes both a cave for the loaches underneath, and an easy resting spot for the frogs on top. This will be about 8" long.

3-4 Golden Apple Snails. I want them to reproduce, since the young will provide food for the loaches. Right?

For the living space near the top:
5-6 Zebra and Leopard Danios and Glo Fish.

I am also looking for another schooling fish (3-5 fish) that will not mix with the danios, and instead form a second school in the tank.

I also plan to have many live plants around the sides and at the back, a sort of partial ecosystem. How will plants affect the pH? A shift towards acidity or alkalinity?