Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   oak leaves (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/oak-leaves-55876/)

luckysarah 11-21-2010 10:37 AM

oak leaves

Does anyone use oak leaves in their tanks?

DanMarion 11-21-2010 10:48 AM

I don't think I would. What are you going to use oak leaves for?

luckysarah 11-21-2010 10:59 AM

Dried Oak leaves can be used in aquariums to add tannins and essential minerals to aid the health of your aquatic animals and plants.
If used in large amounts they will also reduce the pH of the water.
It also suppresses bad bacteria and fungus and aids the development of fish fry and tadpoles by promoting infusoria growth.

(so I have read, I have no experience hence the post)

I have also heard they are excellent for black water fish and wild type fish (adding leaf litter makes the fish feel more comfortable similar to live plants/rocks ect)

You are supposed to place one or two in the tank and let them sink (24 hours) and leave them, let them dissolve over a large amount of time, also carbon in the filter will counteract the positive effects of the leaves.

thefishboy 11-21-2010 11:03 AM

What are you using them with?? Yes they add tannins and you add 1 every few months or so..

luckysarah 11-21-2010 11:07 AM

amecas

I haven't used any yet but the breeder I got them from suggested making the tank as wild looking as possible (lots of plants, rocks ect)... I went on a hike this morning with the dogs and found a nice branch with some nice small dried oak leaves.

thefishboy 11-21-2010 11:15 AM

Sounds good but how would make sure there are clean of parasites and things ?

luckysarah 11-21-2010 11:24 AM

I was thinking about putting them in the freezer for a few hours...