Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Addicted Newbie!! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/addicted-newbie-55848/)

Feisty 11-20-2010 06:59 PM

Addicted Newbie!!

Hi Everyone!

I am new to fish keeping (under 6 months) and am COMPLETELY ADDICTED!!! How did this happen? Why is it soooo interesting?

It all started with a 100 Gallon Tank that my boyfriend gave me, added a 40 Gallon off of craigslist (because we had fry - so OF COURSE, we HAD to get another tank for them, to "save them"). Followed by two 20 Gallons - another CL score from a breeder that was done with his hobby and picking up a 55 Gallon tomorrow (thanks CL!)!

Should I be worried? Is this "hobby" becoming an "illness"? I just love it. I cannot wait to check every tank in the AM and rush home at night to see everyone too!

Currently I have the following:

100 Gallon:
1 Male Red Empress
4 Female Red Empress
2 Pleco
1 Cory
1 Oto Cat
3 Harlequin Rasbora
1 Glow light Tetra
1 Giraffe Cichlid (Small and deformed - but he was so sweet, I HAD to take him home...)
1 Electric Blue Crayfish (small and currently molting a ton!)
1 Celebese Rainbow
5 Assorted Small Danios
3 Giant Danios
3 Paradise Fish
And yes, I know this is an unusual mix, but everyone is holding their own...

40 Gallon:
35 -3/4" Red Empress Fry
12 - 1/2" Red Empress Fry
2 - Reticulated Butterfly Loaches
3 - YOUNG Cockatoo Dwarf Cichlids (Im super excited about these because these were what I REALLY wanted when I started the tank and just FINALLY found them!!!)
4 - Green Swordtails.

20 Gallon: