Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Fish Breeding (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/fish-breeding/)
-   -   Platy (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/fish-breeding/platy-5572/)

speterso 05-01-2007 05:07 PM

questions

Hi, I'm new to this, so excuse me if I'm asking in the wrong place, but I had just purchased a pregnant platy. They advised that I get a breeding tank, in which I did. I put the platy in the breeding tank only yesterday and she had the babies today. However, the fry swam up through the grills and she ate them, which I know she will do, but I'm not sure why they swam up as I was told they would stay down under the grills, hiding in the plants I had placed there. Some didn't make it of course, before they even were able to swim (still in a ball)-which I was told they would pop out & swim in only seconds, so I assume those that didn't aren't alive. I'm quite disappointed as my daughter & I would have at least like to have had one that survived, so my next question is how soon can I put her with the male that I have and how long will it be before she could be having more? (I think the next time I will remove the mother after seeing a couple fry swimming)...what do you think? I appreciate any advice anyone has for me. Thanks!

xxthrwitdwnxx 05-01-2007 05:55 PM

Re: questions

Quote:

Originally Posted by speterso