Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   adding salt to my tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/adding-salt-my-tank-555/)

alis 09-21-2006 12:20 AM

adding salt to my tank

hello :)
i'm in my first year of university in a teeny dorm room and i'm setting up an equally teeny tank for my room (around six gallons) with a hanging filter on the back. it's been running for about two weeks and it has two mollies and a snail.

my question is this! i've heard mollies like salty water, and i'd like to add it for them (they look a little stressed, i know the water is new & everything) but i don't know how the snail would handle it.

and, on the subject of stress - they do a lot of flashing off the gravel and shimmying - earlier in the week i thought i saw weird white flakes on them (not ich) so i transferred them into a bucket of water with an airstone and planned on getting medication from the store, but the next day when i looked at them in the bucket the 'flakes' were totally gone (weird, i know.) so i put them back in the tank and they're still shimmying and flashing away.

any advice?

Lupin 09-21-2006 12:25 AM

Hi and welcome aboard, Ali.:D

For a 6 gallons tank, mollies will not really fit. They can reach 10 cm max size and the way they reproduce will only become a recipe for disasters. Overpopulation caused by their constant reproduction is a problem and the same thing applies to other livebearers like guppies.

It's best to return them to your lfs and get a betta instead. A betta will fit in the tank but not the mollies.