Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Beginner looking for Help! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/beginner-looking-help-54612/)

LexCorp 10-31-2010 12:50 PM

Beginner looking for Help!

Hello,

Amazing site by the way! I am very new to fish keeping. I have had goldfish etc in the past but that was when I was a kid and had no idea that you had to do more than throw the fish in water. So I don't count that as experience! Therefore I am a beginner looking to provide the best environment for my fish! I setup a 10 gallon tank with a bubble stone, filter, and heater. I've been keeping my tank at about 75* F.

I have two live plants, a small cave, and some smaller fake plants to try and provide shade/hiding.

Currently in the tank is a small Silver Dollar, a Bloodfin Tetra, and a Neon Tetra. They all seem to be doing well so far. I purchased them at my local Petco where the associate advised me that with these fish my tank would be full. However I've been reading on this site and others that there are bottom-dwellers and fish that like mid-levels of the tanks etc.

I would like to pick up a small Panda Cory and an Albino Cory. Also maybe 2 more Neon Tetra to keep the other one company. Would this be overcrowding my tank?

Also is there anything else I should do to make the best environment for my fish?

Thank you for any advice/tips!

james7139 10-31-2010 01:03 PM

in my opinion get 6 of one type of cory and get 5 more neons,also maybe think about returning the bloodfin and silver dollar as they are schooling fish and you wont have room for 3 schools of top dwelling fish

thefishboy 10-31-2010 01:43 PM

Silver dollar should be removed it will groe to large for your tank...

burnsbabe 10-31-2010 05:38 PM