Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Beware The LFS!!! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/beware-lfs-5416/)

Mating Slinkys 04-27-2007 08:26 PM

Beware The LFS!!!

Not sure if this is the place for this, but has anyone else had really bad advice from their LFS? When i was setting up my first tank, complete newbie that i was, i relied quite a lot on advice from my LFS. I had a couple of Angels and the yoyo's as well as the plec and i wanted to have something in there to add a little mid/surface colour and fancied the idea of a shoal of something. I saw some pretty little flame tailed guppies and thought that they would be perfect. So i asked the fishman if there were any problems putting them in my tank, specifically would my angels bully them. "No mate, they'll be fine! They're good little fish them, you'll have no problems." so armed with this advice 5 pretty little guppies went into the tank. In less than an hour they'd been run ragged and barely had a tail between them! Fortunately i was able to give them to a mate with a less agressive tank and they are all fine, but i wondered if anyone else fell for bad advice at the start ot things... Name and shame folks!

Lupin 04-27-2007 08:31 PM

There has been a lot of people here reportedly given bad advice. Best to research more or dig deeper before you follow the advice.:)

Mating Slinkys 04-27-2007 08:39 PM

Yeah, i does that now, just wondered if anyone else had horror stories. And to be fair my lfs is usually good (which is why i've not named and shamed) there's just one dude who doesn't seem to know jack. I talk to the other dudes for advice now.

Andyandsue 04-27-2007 09:25 PM