Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Nano Reef (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/nano-reef/)
-   -   Seeking testing and all other advice for my 10 gal. nano reef (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/nano-reef/seeking-testing-all-other-advice-my-54110/)

KMS1989 10-22-2010 03:55 PM

Seeking testing and all other advice for my 10 gal. nano reef

I just purchased a nano reef from a friend of mine that has been set up for about 1 1/2 yrs. I added a small colt coral, clownfish, and a scooter blenny. There is also a few aptasia(spell) anemone's growing. I also have a good cleaner crew. I was just wondering what kind of testing kits etc. I will need. It is 10 gallons and I have a backpack filter 2 small powerheads and a protein skimmer as well. I'm new to this but mezmorized by it and want to do well. Please any advice is greatly appreciated :-D

Thanx,
Kayla

badxgillen 10-22-2010 11:49 PM

Hello

i like the API test kits ....generaly speaking anything thats liquid or electric is more acurate than a strip....i advise against any strips.....remember that you need a high range PH test kit....and dont forget about the hydrometer...i prefer a refractometer...but this as well as th electric tests will be spendy...any other questions holler...

badxgillen 10-22-2010 11:55 PM

aptasia

you probably want to get rid of the aptasisa as soon as possible...there are a few chemicle methods..joes juice...aptasia X...these work....some people use lemon juice but i find this very difficult and impracticle in tight areas of the tank....i would recomend peppermint shrimp...or an aptasia eating file fish...PS any pics...

KMS1989 10-23-2010 02:24 PM