Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Lots of growth... (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/lots-growth-54069/)

Calmwaters 10-21-2010 09:46 PM

Lots of growth...
 
Is it just me or have these plants really taken off! These plants are in my new soil base tank that has only been set up since 10/9/10 so I think in the short time its been set up the plants are really growing fast. What do you guys think?
First the shot taken on 10/9/10:
http://i499.photobucket.com/albums/r...impTank006.jpg
then the picture taken a few minutes ago if you look at the Ludwig Repens beside the rock/cave decor youcan see how the new growth is now almost as tall as the rock is and the wisteria infront of the filter and the plant in the middle have now reached the surface thats at least 2-3 inches of growth on each plant and the cryptocoryne wendtii has grown at least an inch:
http://i499.photobucket.com/albums/r...impTank001.jpg
heres one with the flash:
http://i499.photobucket.com/albums/r...impTank004.jpg

badxgillen 10-22-2010 12:24 AM

plants
 
wow...definatly a differnce...looks awesome...its going to be a jungle in no time....dont let it over grow the cave to much...

Calmwaters 10-22-2010 10:51 AM

LOL no I will be sure to keep the opening clear as I think the shrimpys will like it when they are molting.

redchigh 10-22-2010 12:26 PM

Now you know why I switched all my tanks over to soil. :)


Growth is almost as fast as high tech when its done right, but without any of the complications...

Calmwaters 10-22-2010 12:44 PM

LOL Yes I do have a question for you I have a 10 gallon tank that is already set up and has fish in it if I want to switch it over is it safe to add the fish as soon as its set up? It has two Amazon Swords in it but I plan on removeing one of them and replaceing it with some other plants.

redchigh 10-22-2010 05:34 PM

To play it safe, use only 1-1.5 inches of soil and get lots of stem plants...

Then you'll be fine. :)

zof 10-22-2010 10:23 PM

Nice! Just got my organic soil tonight for my 10 gallon, sadly though I couldn't find any clay but I think I'm going to start soaking it tonight. Cant wait to see growth like yours!

Calmwaters 10-22-2010 10:34 PM

If you got the Organic Miracle Grow you don't have to have the clay. I just used the miracle grow for first layer and regular black gravel as the top layer.

aunt kymmie 10-22-2010 10:46 PM

It looks great, Amanda. I'm envious. :-)

Calmwaters 10-22-2010 10:57 PM

LOL Thanks Kymmie.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2