Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   will this work ???? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/will-work-53885/)

fryup 10-18-2010 04:39 PM

will this work ????
 
some of you will know im getting a larger (120-140) litre tank and i was going to add ALL the water from my old tank to this new tank when i get it (so i dnt have to cycle it)....will this work and it comes with a larger filter so could i just put my old filter sponges into the new filter and then add fresh treated water to this tank then the fish???.....any advice/help would be apriciated :):):)

small fry 10-18-2010 05:47 PM

I have established new tanks with tank water from my other tanks before. It sounds like a good plan to me! I would keep an eye on your ammonia for the first few weeks, just in case. Hope this helps!

zof 10-18-2010 07:42 PM

I'd like to point out the bacteria you want doesn't really live in the water but on surfaces, so moving water really wont do much except to move the ammonia over so the bacteria doesn't die being in water with no ammonia. But this could also be accomplished by filling the new tank up with just new water and moving about half your fish over, then the next day move the other half of your fish over and your sponge. This is the method I would use as it would start an ammonia source in the new tank and you would start out with all fresh new water, which means very little nitrates.

But your method would work too and have the benefit of moving all your fish at once.

fryup 10-19-2010 03:14 AM

well il also be keeping my ornaments and plant that are in my current tank, them moving them over with my tank water :):):)

redchigh 10-19-2010 10:12 AM

I agree, the filter media is probably all you need.

If it was me, I would just run both filters in the new tank for a week or so, and then move the media over. Probably overkill, most people just squeeze the old filter media out...

Do you have live plants?
If you have enough, there's no need to worry about a cycle.

fryup 10-19-2010 04:00 PM

yh i have 3 live plant and plan to get move with this new tank :):):)......carnt wait, i think im getting it in next 2 weeks aprox :D:D:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2