Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Saltwater Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-fish-diseases/)
-   -   cloudy water and ammonia spike, help! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-fish-diseases/cloudy-water-ammonia-spike-help-5381/)

cr1220 04-26-2007 01:38 PM

cloudy water and ammonia spike, help!

I'm still kinda new to the sw game - only about a year, so please bear with me as I try play with the big boys! I'll list my tank specs below. For several weeks now I have been battling cloudy water. It can be crystal clear when turning lights on in the a.m. and 2 hours later be very cloudy or some days vice versa. But by about 5 or 6 p.m. it will be clear and stay that way until I turn lights out in the evening. I assumed lights were promoting algae growth, but why would it be cloudy first thing in the morning when it was clear the night before when I turned lights out? Second problem- which may or not be related. My ammonia has spiked to 1.0 and after several 20-25% water changes it has not come down. The fish seem to be ok, not stressed. I'd be heartbroken if I lost anyone, what can I do to lower? Saturday I added a coral banded shrimp and another clownfish, am I overstocked?

55 gal
power filter
protein skimmer
2 powerheads
260 watt current pc dual satellite light
3" cc substrate ( I know not best choice)
20-25 lbs live rock
temp 78-80
ph 8.0
nitrite 0
nitrate <10
ammonia suddenly 1.0
salinity 1.025
yellow tang, coral beauty,mandarin goby,hawaiian puffer, clownfish

usmc121581 04-26-2007 04:49 PM

What I noticed in one of my reef tanks is that in my 14 gal nano when my daughter gets a hold of the food and feeds the fish it gets cloudy. It get that way because of over feeding, and left over food decomposing. The other thing it could be is a algea bloom like you stated.

cr1220 04-26-2007 05:27 PM