Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Tank Advise (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/tank-advise-53128/)

LovesDaBears 10-06-2010 12:50 PM

Tank Advise
 
Hi, I'm new to fishkeeping and i am looking for some tank advise.
I want to stock
5 Clown Loaches
1 Red Tail Black Shark
6 Tiger Barbs
not sure, but maybe some Lampeye Tetras.

I read that i should have a six foot tank for the Clown Loaches, but is that totally necessary? I plan to have the tank heavily stocked with plants and wood and rocks. Most tanks i am looking at are 100g tanks and want a larger tank but a six foot long tank is a little to big.

I love Clown Loaches, they are my new favorite fish. Any advise will help.

thanks.

BEARitone 10-06-2010 01:16 PM

I am definitely no expert but I believe that the 6 foot requirement to give them adequate room to swim. They grow quite large and are a a active playful fish, and they love lots of places to hide.

Some people say 55 gallon, some people say 6 feet. Someone else may be able to give you personal experience, good luck.

also, nice choice on fish... clown loaches are amazing.

LovesDaBears 10-06-2010 01:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BEARitone (Post 487147)
I am definitely no expert but I believe that the 6 foot requirement to give them adequate room to swim. They grow quite large and are a a active playful fish, and they love lots of places to hide.

Some people say 55 gallon, some people say 6 feet. Someone else may be able to give you personal experience, good luck.

also, nice choice on fish... clown loaches are amazing.

thanks, i love the clown loaches.

beachcire 10-06-2010 05:24 PM

I agree, clown loaches are amazing fish. I would be worried about maintaining your water quality once they start to get larger though. 5 full size clown loaches in a 55 is quite a bio-load I would think.

Tiger barbs are also quite the entertaining fish and I had zero problems with keeping them and a red tail in the same tank. I would even consider upping the number of tiger barbs since the more you have, the less they tend to nip the other fish and 10 - 15 tiger barbs shoaling together looks really cool. Throw in 3 yoyo loaches and you would be good to go.

That's my opinion but no matter what you decide on, good luck and post some pics!

Byron 10-07-2010 08:10 PM

Please check the profiles of these fish. A red tail black shark is a single bottom fish in an aquarium; it will not exist peacefully with loaches down the road when it starts to "act its nature."

Clown loaches need to be in a group of 5+, and need 6-7 feet tanks to grow healthy, as explained in the profile.

Tiger barbs can be troublesome (very) but less if in a group of at least 8 but preferably more. Again, info is in the profile. Profiles are second tab from the left in the blue bar at the top.

LovesDaBears 10-08-2010 12:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Byron (Post 488151)
Please check the profiles of these fish. A red tail black shark is a single bottom fish in an aquarium; it will not exist peacefully with loaches down the road when it starts to "act its nature."

Clown loaches need to be in a group of 5+, and need 6-7 feet tanks to grow healthy, as explained in the profile.

Tiger barbs can be troublesome (very) but less if in a group of at least 8 but preferably more. Again, info is in the profile. Profiles are second tab from the left in the blue bar at the top.

thanks Byron.

I did not find out this info until after i got the loaches, and being new at fish keeping the people that are selling you the fish tell you what ever you want to here just to make the sale, but its my own ignorance teh blame. So i am planning on getting a six footer for my loaches because i like them so much.

OH!!!! and another thing i am finding out about........... BIO-LOAD!!!!!! dang man, i need a another filter, or a BIGGER one, sheesh.

Byron 10-09-2010 11:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LovesDaBears (Post 488292)
thanks Byron.

I did not find out this info until after i got the loaches, and being new at fish keeping the people that are selling you the fish tell you what ever you want to here just to make the sale, but its my own ignorance teh blame. So i am planning on getting a six footer for my loaches because i like them so much.

OH!!!! and another thing i am finding out about........... BIO-LOAD!!!!!! dang man, i need a another filter, or a BIGGER one, sheesh.

We all continue to learn; many of us (myself definitely) have made such errors along the way.

On the filter, what exactly do you have now? More filters or larger filters do not always mean better filtration. And live plants, esp with loaches, would make a vast difference.

LovesDaBears 10-10-2010 11:04 PM

Well yesterday i woke up to find one of my tigerbarbs had died. i quickly did a ammonia test and found it was raised, so i put some ammonia stuff in to give me time until i can do a water change whitch i was going to do anyway that day. so i did a 50% water change removed a few ornaments and check them out to see if i could find my RTBS, i could not find it and i destroyed them trying to look inside the cracks and holes with no luck, she is gone, Not in the tank anywhere.

Well today i go to my bro's house to watch some football and my wife calls and tells me that we lost a lampeyed tetra, and im like WTH!?!?!?! am i that bad? now im down three fish and trying hard to do things the right way, but heck its the first time i have ever done this.

as for the filter its a topfin 60, it hangs on the back and it has two filter screens that you slip in and out.
and for plants i have six plants in there one big one and the rest are small i guess, not sure what type they are.

burnsbabe 10-11-2010 01:29 AM

Since you're new to fishkeeping I'll go ahead and ask. Did you cycle this tank at all before adding the fish? If you didn't I'd be doing daily water changes until you bacteria colony can establish.

LovesDaBears 10-11-2010 12:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by burnsbabe (Post 490266)
Since you're new to fishkeeping I'll go ahead and ask. Did you cycle this tank at all before adding the fish? If you didn't I'd be doing daily water changes until you bacteria colony can establish.

Well a friend of mine had to move, and he had the tank up for about two years. He brought the tank over with the substrate and about four inches of water still in the tank with two buckets of water on the side and his fish. when i asked about changing the rock out he said i can but, i would have to cycle the tank first. So i just kept the same substrate filled the tank back with water and put the fish in it and HE treated the water. i have had the tank for about four weeks now and i have done three water changes, and one of those were a 50% this weekend.

Talking with an other friend, (he has a tank) he was going down a check list and he thinks i maybe over feeding the fish. It sounds about right i guess the fish have gotten fatter now that i have them.:oops:
But that still does not explain what happen to my damn RTBS, cover is on no way out maybe he got eaten?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2