Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Iron addition for heavy planted tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/iron-addition-heavy-planted-tank-53063/)

migdem 10-05-2010 04:18 PM

Iron addition for heavy planted tank
 
Hi all,
I have tested the aquarium for iron 1 day after I dosed Seachem Flourish which should have some iron but resulted around 0.1mg/l which is low right?

Test kit is advising to add more iron. Should I get Seachem Iron? Or something else? Should i dose iron weekly and seperate from the Seachem Flourish?

kitten_penang 10-06-2010 04:57 AM

how big is the tank? you must know that the plants take in iron right.thats why the iron reading is low.a lot of people here use it and the plants are fine without adding other stuff in it. do you have shrimps in the tank?

migdem 10-06-2010 05:02 AM

450 litre tank.

No shrimps yet but would like to add Amano Shrimps in the future.

kitten_penang 10-06-2010 05:38 AM

when theres shrimps in the tank iron and other heavy metals will kill off your stock. they are sensitive to it. so far adding the flourish once every 2 weeks into my tank which has fert soil that is over a month old isn't hurting my shrimps and they are multiplying which is a good sign. and overdose of fert will make the bodies slowly die off starting from the tail area. if you want to keep only plants and fish the added iron will be good for the plants just don't over do it.cause the water gets heavy metals from the water and flourish too

redchigh 10-06-2010 10:54 AM

If you have high lighting and lots of dissolved CO2, you may well need more fertilisers.

What's your lighting? Do you use CO2?
How stocked is your tank?

migdem 10-06-2010 01:17 PM

216 W T5's with reflectors, 450 litre tank, i have CO2 with ph controller set to 6.8PH. Right now stock is extremely minimum because the tank is still in the early stages.

redchigh 10-06-2010 01:38 PM

What's your normal PH without CO2?

When you say stock... You mean fish stock, not plants right?

In your case, (since it is high-tech), you may want to dose additional nutrients...
Here is something that might be useful-
Fertiliser Calculator


Seachem's reccomendation is below. (I would leave out the excel and ph adjusters.)
http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s...osingChart.gif


Did you know the can of worms you were opening when you decided high tech? :P

For more information, you're just going to have to google.

migdem 10-06-2010 02:07 PM

worms that eat money right?

hehe yeah but that is what i call aquarium addictive :)

about the phosphorus, nitrogen i can get this with fish waste.

Still waiting for tank to cycle before i can get loads of more fish but soon this will be fully stocked.

redchigh 10-06-2010 02:08 PM

You can get it from fish waste, but you can get CO2 from fish as well.

Unless you want a drastically overstocked aquarium, you may need to supplement it nonetheless. The fish won't poop enough.

migdem 10-06-2010 02:14 PM

it will be stocked soon enough.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2