Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   cotton substance on my fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/cotton-substance-my-fish-52523/)

GaryRO 09-27-2010 08:56 PM

cotton substance on my fish

I have a Shubunkin that has some sort of white cotton like substance on is side. I am a newbie and would like any information possible form how to treat to preventing this for the future. If anyone has any ideas I would love to have our help.

Thank You

Gary

tanker 09-27-2010 09:09 PM

Columnaris might be a possibility. Or a fungus. I've no experience with diagnosis or treatment, so wait for someone knowledgeable to help you with that.

As for prevention in the future, can you post some more information about your tank? How big it is, whether it is cycled, how long it's been set up. Have you been testing your water for ammonia, nitrite and nitrate levels? What's your water change schedule? How long have you had your fish? If you give some more information, the people who can help you will have more to go on.

Sorry about your fish.

SinCrisis 09-27-2010 09:24 PM

melafix and primafix. combined, they will treat generally most bacterial and fungal infections. Both work against columnaris. if ineffective, try triple sulfa, its stronger. All of these are common API products sold at pet stores.

GaryRO 09-28-2010 10:47 AM

Tank Set-up

Quote:

Originally Posted by tanker (Post 480931)
Columnaris might be a possibility. Or a fungus. I've no experience with diagnosis or treatment, so wait for someone knowledgeable to help you with that.