Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   new saltwater aquarium questions (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/new-saltwater-aquarium-questions-52452/)

frothyspoon 09-26-2010 09:20 PM

new saltwater aquarium questions

I am about to add water to my new saltwater aquarium which i converted from freshwater. I am completely new to salt so I have a few questions about everything.

My first questions is about the substrate. I have about 60 pounds of crushed coral and aragonite sand and before i placed it in my aquarium i washed it well but the water was still a little cloudy. Will this cause problems when i add water soon?

My next question is how long do i have to let the water cycle before I can add live rock to the system? And then how long do i have to let the live rock filter the water before I can add my first fish?

Lastly, is it wise to buy live rock that someone is selling from an established system? Or is it recommended that i buy it from a LFS.

Thanks for all your help

badxgillen 09-27-2010 12:33 AM

rock it