Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Hey guys New to SW in Ga (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/hey-guys-new-sw-ga-51531/)

PFCDeitz 09-13-2010 07:20 PM

Hey guys New to SW in Ga

Hey everyone my name is Kris I recently just got out of the Army i was a Military Police officer!

I am a 22 old male and i live at home with my Gf and Parents.

I found this site by looking for answers to my questions! so here they are

I have a 29 gallon freshwater tank. When i grew up my parents had a Huge 300 gallon SW tank. I loved it but they sadly stopped. Still got the tank but empty.

What i need/want to know is what really do i need to start a small Sw tank.

What i have
29 gallon tank
Top fin 20 Filter i believe it is.
18" light with canopy ( i got a florescent light for the tank but i gotta find the box with the name)
50 LB of instant Ocean mix
Prime Chemical
Thats all!

As of right now im trying to find homes for my freshwater fish and plants.

So can anyone tell me what else i need and how to start this? thanks again

Kris

Romad 09-13-2010 08:32 PM

Hi Kris,

Welcome to the forum. More importantly - thank you for your service to our country. You guys rock!!

Can't help you with your salty questions but there are pleny of folks here who can. Just wanted to say hey and thanks :)

PFCDeitz 09-13-2010 08:56 PM

Hey it was my pleasure to do so!

aunt kymmie 09-13-2010 09:40 PM

Hi Kris, welcome to TFK! Like Romad, I have no experience with the S/W side of things. Until someone comes along who knows the answers to your questions there are good stickys and threads under the S/W portion of our forum to read that may answer alot of your questions.
We're glad you decided to join us!

fish joey 09-14-2010 07:56 AM