Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Want to start aquarium, buy from craigslist? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/want-start-aquarium-buy-craigslist-50151/)

CMurphy3639 08-25-2010 07:08 PM

Want to start aquarium, buy from craigslist?

I'm interested in starting up an aquarium but as a poor college student I'm really trying to save some money. I really like the idea of the hexagonal aquarium both because of my space limitations as well as the design for the tank in my head. I found this on craigslist and wanted to go take a look, figuring $35 for a 35 gallon tank was a steal. Obviously I don't trust any of that electrical equipment pictured and would get newer equipment, but I wanted to know if anyone had any experience with buying used? If it isn't scratched and just dirty, is it easy to clean up?

Hexagonal Fish Tank Aquarium 35 gal?

Thanks.

CMurphy3639 08-25-2010 07:12 PM

Also, I pulled up a hexagonal calculator and it told me that an 18'' side by 23'' height is 80+ gallons?

marhlfld 08-25-2010 09:11 PM

If you do have space limitations, 35 and/or 80 gallons is humongous! Figure on 8 lbs of water weight per gallon. Yes, that would be an excellent price for a 35 or 80 gallon. I've been shopping on craigs list too, and have been picking up 10 gallons for $20. That usually includes hood, light, filter and sometimes a heater, with gravel and some decorations. A good heater is $40 retail for a 10 gallon. So shopping on Craigs list is a great way to go. Some scratching, if minor won't show up once water is in the tank. Deep gouges are a different story.

aunt kymmie 08-25-2010 09:20 PM

All but one of my tanks (I have five) have come from craigslist. :-)

Inga 08-25-2010 09:26 PM