Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Saltwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Whats wrong with undergravels. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-aquarium-equipment/whats-wrong-undergravels-4981/)

nbassis 04-13-2007 01:41 PM

Whats wrong with undergravels.

I understand they are outdated. But what is the problem with them, the way i see it the more filteration the better. I understand using live rock is the key, but in hawaii we cannot use live rock. I have been using an undergravel in one of my tanks for 3 years and had not problems with it.

herefishy 04-13-2007 03:18 PM

First of all let me say that I am not a saltwater person. However, I do run ugf's an many of my tanks. Some are air powered, some with powerheads, some by powerheads running reverse flow which I have found to be most efficient. By running reverse flow, I have found that the substrate becomes less compacted and also requires fewer and less intense gravel sweeps. Air powerered ugf's I believe are archaic and very inefficient. However, some smaller tanks do weel uing them. I do not use ten as a stand alone system but as a part of multiple filtering systems. In other words, I use various other filter types, canisters, power filters(both external and internal) to provide filtration for my tanks.

nbassis 04-13-2007 03:37 PM

Currently I have one 400 GPH powerhead on mine, and am going to instal a second and switch them every 6 to 8 hours to create a tide effect. I read on one of these that UG's are a "ticking time bomb". Whats this about. I do not run it alone, as you can see from my tanks, listed below, i have many other system son the tank as well.

usmc121581 04-13-2007 03:45 PM